Balm comparisons

Tallow or shea butter: which is better for skin and balms?

USDA lists no vitamin A or K in tallow, and sebum's wax esters and squalene are not in it. Fatty acids, melt, hardness, grain and shelf life from the data.

Neither fat is better for skin in any way the data can show, and the two claims that make tallow sound better are wrong. The USDA record for beef tallow lists no vitamin A and no vitamin K at all, and human sebum is about a quarter wax esters and an eighth squalene, which no source reports in tallow. What actually separates the two fats is how they behave in a balm: tallow holds a higher melt and sets with less wax, shea grains more easily and carries more vitamin E. This page puts the measured numbers for both fats side by side in one table.

Short answer

Choose on behaviour, not biology. Tallow (USDA: vitamin A 0, vitamin K 0, vitamin D 0.7 micrograms and vitamin E 2.7 mg per 100 g) melts near 42 C and set in a lotion bar at 80 percent with only 10 percent beeswax. Crude shea melts at 32 C, would not harden at the same loading, and carried about 10 mg of tocopherols per 100 g. Pick tallow for heat and a firm set, shea for vegan products and a softer melt.

  • Tallow vitamin A: 0 (USDA)
  • Tallow vitamin K: 0 (USDA)
  • Sebum: 25% wax esters, 12% squalene
  • Tallow melt about 42 C
  • Shea slip melt 32 C
  • Saturates: 50% against 48%

What each fat actually contains

Every row below comes from a measured source that anyone can open and read. The tallow column leans on two: the USDA FoodData Central record for beef tallow (record 171400), and a 2021 study from Silpakorn University by Limmatvapirat and colleagues, which rendered beef fat six ways, analysed each, and then made 36 lotion bars from tallow, shea and beeswax. The shea column leans on a 2023 study by Abdel-Razek and colleagues of crude Ghanaian shea and its refined fractions, and on a 2025 survey of 122 shea trees in northern Côte d'Ivoire by Attikora and colleagues. Sebum figures are from Pappas's 2009 review of epidermal surface lipids.

Beef tallow against shea butter, assembled from USDA FoodData Central record 171400; Limmatvapirat et al. 2021 (six tallow samples, range shown); Abdel-Razek et al. 2023 (crude shea from Ghana); Attikora et al. 2025 (mean and standard deviation, 122 trees); Nam 2022; and Pappas 2009 for sebum. Fatty acids are percent of total fatty acids, except USDA, which is grams per 100 g of fat. Figures from different laboratories are not strictly comparable; each is labelled with its source in the text.
PropertyBeef tallowShea butterHuman sebum, for reference
Main lipid classTriglycerides ("mainly composed of", Limmatvapirat)Triglycerides: SOS 46.8%, SOO 42.1% (Abdel-Razek)Triglycerides 20-60%, mean 45%
Wax estersNone reported by any source hereNone reported23-29%, mean 25%
SqualeneNot listed by USDA0.20 mg/g (0.02%), crude10-14%, mean 12%
Cholesterol and sterolsCholesterol 109 mg per 100 g (0.11%)Squalene, lanosterol and amyrins, 20.8 mg/g crudeCholesterol and sterol esters 1-5%
Palmitic, C16:024.9 (USDA); 28.0-30.73.2 (crude); 3.5 +/- 0.5
Stearic, C18:018.9 (USDA); 12.0-25.243.5 (crude); 38.8 +/- 4.7
Oleic, C18:136.0 (USDA); 37.9-45.245.8 (crude); 51.3 +/- 4.2
Myristic, C14:03.7 (USDA); 5.5-6.2Not reported
Palmitoleic, C16:14.2 (USDA); 2.5-5.4Not reported
Linoleic, C18:23.1 (USDA); 0.4-0.55.9 (crude); 6.5 +/- 0.8
Total saturated49.8 g (USDA); 48-60%48.2% (crude)
Total polyunsaturated4.0 g (USDA)6.0% (crude)
Vitamin A0 (USDA)Carotenoids not detected by HPLC, crude or refined
Vitamin D0.7 micrograms per 100 g (USDA)Not measured in these sources
Vitamin E2.7 mg alpha-tocopherol per 100 g (USDA)10.06 mg total tocopherols per 100 g, 8.52 of it alpha (crude)
Vitamin K0 (USDA)Not measured in these sources
MeltingAbout 42 C, visual estimate, rib fat rendered by the author (Nam)Slip melting point 32 C crude; refined stearin 36 C, olein 25 C (AOCS Cc 1-25)
Hardness in a bar, 80% fat with 10% beeswaxSet and measured (formula 1)"Did not harden well" (formula 29)
Fresh peroxide value0.21-0.50 meq O2/kg5.91 crude; 0.24-0.63 refined
Free fatty acidsAcid value 0.20-0.76 mg KOH/g (about 0.1-0.4% as oleic)12.2% crude; negligible refined
Rancimat induction, 110 CNot found in a readable source11.5 h crude; 12.5-18.5 h refined

The vitamin rows dispose of the most repeated claim about tallow, the wax ester and squalene rows dispose of the second, and the hardness row is the difference a maker will actually feel. The ingredient pages carry the fuller picture of each fat: tallow covers rendering and smell, shea butter covers grades and the origin swing.

Same saturation, spent on different fatty acids

The common summary says tallow is the more saturated fat. On these figures it barely is. USDA puts tallow at 49.8 g of saturated fatty acids per 100 g; Abdel-Razek measured 48.17 percent in crude shea. Limmatvapirat's six tallow samples run wider, from about 48 to 60 percent saturated depending on which fat was rendered and how, but the centre of both fats sits close to half.

What differs is which saturated acid. In shea, stearic acid is about nine tenths of the saturated fraction: 43.5 of 48.2 points in the Ghanaian crude. In tallow it is under two fifths: USDA gives 18.9 g stearic against 24.9 g palmitic, plus 3.7 g myristic. Tallow's saturates are spread across three chain lengths; shea's are nearly all one. That single fact runs through the rest of this page: a solid fraction made mostly of one molecule type crystallises out on its own, and a spread of chain lengths does not.

Abdel-Razek found two triglycerides dominating crude shea: SOS, stearic acid on both outer positions with oleic in the middle, at 46.77 percent, and SOO at 42.12 percent. SOS is a symmetrical, high-melting molecule; SOO is a soft one. Shea is close to a two-component fat, one hard and one soft, and that is why it behaves like one.

Shea also varies more than the table can show. Attikora's 122 trees gave stearic at 38.76 plus or minus 4.67 percent and oleic at 51.26 plus or minus 4.21, and found "a very high negative correlation coefficient (-0.98)" between the two. In plain terms, every point of stearic a lot gains, it loses from oleic, so the hardness of shea lots swings with nothing else changing. Tallow varies too, but differently: Limmatvapirat's hard fat and soft fat from the same carcasses gave stearic from 12.0 to 25.2 percent depending on the fat and the rendering method. Butters compared sets both fats among the rest.

The vitamin claim, checked against the USDA record

Most of the first page of search results for this comparison is written by tallow sellers, and it says tallow delivers vitamins A, D, E and K; some of it adds that shea is rich in vitamin A. The claim even appears in a peer-reviewed paper: a 2024 scoping review in Cureus by Russell and colleagues states that tallow "contains essential vitamins, such as vitamins A, D, K, E, and B12", with no quantities given. The measured record says otherwise. USDA FoodData Central record 171400, beef tallow, per 100 g:

  • Vitamin A: 0 micrograms retinol activity equivalents. Retinol 0, beta-carotene 0, alpha-carotene 0.
  • Vitamin K: 0 micrograms phylloquinone.
  • Vitamin B12: 0 micrograms.
  • Vitamin D: 0.7 micrograms, 28 IU, all of it D3.
  • Vitamin E: 2.7 mg alpha-tocopherol.

Two of the four vitamins are absent from the record, and so is B12, the extra one the review lists. The two that are present are there in amounts that do not survive the arithmetic of a balm. The tallow balm on this site's tallow ingredient page uses 65 g of tallow per 100 g batch. On USDA figures that batch contains 0.46 micrograms of vitamin D and 1.8 mg of vitamin E, in total, across every application from the jar. The same site's tallow balm formula adds tocopherol at 0.1 percent of the batch as an antioxidant, which is 100 mg in 100 g: about 57 times the vitamin E the tallow brought with it.

Shea, which nobody markets on its vitamins, carries more vitamin E than tallow on these figures. Abdel-Razek measured 10.06 mg of total tocopherols per 100 g of crude shea, 8.52 mg of it alpha-tocopherol, which is about three times USDA's tallow figure. Refining reverses that: the refined shea stearin fraction held 1.27 mg per 100 g, less than tallow. The vitamin A claim for shea fails as well: Abdel-Razek looked for carotenoids, the plant source of vitamin A, by HPLC in all four shea samples, and "they were not detected." So the honest ranking depends on the grade, and the vitamin E in either is small beside what a formulator adds on purpose, as explained in vitamin E and antioxidants.

Note

USDA's record is one composite value for a food fat, not a measurement of your supplier's lot, and grass-finished fat may differ. It is still the only readable measured source for tallow's vitamins, and nothing in it supports a skin claim. Selling a balm on what its vitamins do to skin also moves it toward the line set out in cosmetic against drug claims.

The sebum claim, checked against sebum

The second claim is that tallow "matches human sebum". Pappas's 2009 review in Dermato-Endocrinology gives the relative composition of human sebum as mean weight percentages: triglycerides 45, wax esters 25, squalene 12, free fatty acids 10, cholesterol and sterol esters 4, diglycerides 2. The ranges are wide for triglycerides and free fatty acids (20 to 60 and 5 to 40 percent) and narrow for the wax esters (23 to 29) and squalene (10 to 14).

Set tallow against that and the overlap is one class. Tallow is a triglyceride fat, "mainly composed of triglycerides" in Limmatvapirat's words, so it resembles the 45 percent of sebum that is also triglyceride and, loosely, the free fatty acids made from it. The other 37 percent of sebum, wax esters plus squalene at their means, is the part that makes sebum distinctive, and none of the sources on this page reports either in tallow. USDA lists neither. Pappas explains why the wax esters are a poor target for any body fat: they "are unique to sebaceous cells and are not produced by any other cell in the body." Tallow is rendered from adipose tissue, not from sebaceous glands. Some pages make the claim with fatty acid percentages instead, which sidesteps the problem: it counts the acids and ignores the lipid classes they sit in.

Squalene gives a useful scale. Crude shea contained 0.20 mg of squalene per gram, which is 0.02 percent. Sebum is about 12 percent: roughly 600 times more. Pappas describes squalene's level in sebum as "unusually high (∼12%) compared to the levels of any other tissue or organ." That is the property the claim would need tallow to share, and there is no measurement showing that it does.

Cholesterol is the one minor lipid tallow has in measured quantity: 109 mg per 100 g, or 0.11 percent, against 1 to 5 percent cholesterol and sterol esters in sebum. Crude shea carries 20.8 mg per gram of squalene, lanosterol and the triterpenes alpha- and beta-amyrin together, mostly the amyrins. Neither fat is close to sebum here either.

If resemblance to skin surface lipid were the standard, the materials that actually contain wax esters would lead: jojoba oil is almost entirely wax esters and lanolin is built from them, while squalane is the stable form of squalene. The full evidence review, including what tallow does do on skin, is in is tallow good for skin. The scoping review by Russell and colleagues found 19 studies that met its criteria out of 147 screened, and concluded that "there are significant research gaps in how it can be used on human skin."

Melting behaviour: 42 C against 32 C

Melting is the property that decides most practical differences, and it is also where tallow is most often misquoted. The 40 to 49 C figure that fills tallow pages is a titre, the solidification point of the fat's liberated fatty acids, not a melting point, a correction this site has already made on its tallow pages. The readable measurement is simpler. Nam, who rendered butcher's rib fat to use as a crystallography carrier in 2022, reported that "the melting temperature of beef tallow was visually estimated to be approximately 42 °C." It is a visual estimate on one batch, and it should be read as one.

Shea's figure is instrument-backed. Abdel-Razek gives a slip melting point of 32 C for crude shea by AOCS Cc 1-25, and shows how much refining moves it: the refined stearin fraction melted at 36 C, the olein at 25 C, and a 1:1 blend of the two at 31 C. A "shea butter" sold as refined can be any of those, so the grade on the label says less than the fraction behind it.

Skin sits at about 32 to 34 C. That places crude shea right at its melt on contact, which is the soft, cushioned melt-down people buy it for, and it places tallow some eight to ten degrees below its visual melt. Tallow softens under a finger rather than collapsing. It also means tallow survives a warm car or a summer post in a way shea cannot: a shea-heavy balm starts to slump in the low thirties, as covered in balm melting in the heat.

Hardness in a balm: what the one direct test shows

No readable source gives a single hardness number for pure tallow against pure shea. The nearest thing is better: Limmatvapirat's team made 36 lotion bars from their own low-temperature-rendered tallow, a commercial shea and beeswax, stepping the three through every combination in 10 point increments, and measured each bar with a texture analyser (conical Perspex probe, 5 mm penetration, 25 C, reported in gram-force). There is no liquid oil in any of them, so the bars isolate what the three solids do.

Selected lotion bars from Limmatvapirat et al. 2021, tallow : shea : beeswax by weight, with texture analyser hardness at 25 C. Formulas 3, 13 and 19 are the three the authors selected as stable with good homogeneity; formulas 1 and 29 are the two extremes at 10 percent beeswax.
FormulaTallow %Shea %Beeswax %Result
1801010Set; hardness measured
29108010"Did not harden well"; the only one of 36 not measured
370102060.80 +/- 2.29 gf
1340303058.23 +/- 2.70 gf
1930304073.23 +/- 2.79 gf

Two readings are safe. First, at 10 percent beeswax, 80 percent tallow made a bar firm enough to measure and 80 percent shea did not. That matches the melting figures: at 25 C, a fat melting near 42 C has more solid in it than one melting at 32 C. Second, formulas 13 and 19 hold shea at 30 percent and swap 10 points of tallow for 10 points of beeswax, and hardness rose from 58 to 73 gram-force, about a quarter. The authors' own summary is that beeswax "tended to increase the hardness of lotion bars". Wax is still the main hardness dial, which is the argument made at length in beeswax against shea butter.

One reading is not safe: formulas 3 and 13 come out at about the same hardness, but they change all three ingredients at once, so they cannot say how many points of shea equal a point of tallow. Nobody has published that exchange rate. The working consequence is simple enough: when a tallow formula is converted to shea, expect it to set softer at the same wax level, and budget a point or two more wax, then test. The bars were also cycled six times between 4 C and 40 C; formula 13 softened from 58.23 to 52.23 gram-force, then "returned to the beginning characteristics after being placed at room temperature for 2 hours", with no phase separation. The full bar method, with liquid oil, is in lotion bar.

Grain and tempering

Shea's grain comes straight from its structure. A fat that is close to half SOS and half SOO has a hard fraction and a soft fraction that crystallise at different temperatures. Cool it slowly and the SOS-rich part crystallises on its own and grows into grains big enough to feel. On this site's fat crystal polymorphism page, shea ends in the dense beta form with a high grain risk, while tallow settles in beta prime, with a low one, because its chain lengths are too mixed for one fraction to separate. The polymorph assignments are from the fat crystal literature, not from the sources above; the triglyceride figures that explain them are Abdel-Razek's.

The process follows. Neither fat is tempered the way chocolate is, and neither needs to be. What shea needs is the opposite of tempering: melt fully, hold at 75 to 80 C until the melt is optically clear so that no seed crystal survives, then cool fast in a cold water bath or the fridge. The windows are on pour temperatures and the full rescue is in grainy shea butter. Tallow forgives a slower cool, though the tallow page still recommends the same hot hold and quick cool as cheap insurance.

Try this

If a blend of the two grains, the shea is the suspect, not the tallow. Remelt the identical batch, hold it at 75 to 80 C until clear, and chill it hard. If it still grains, move part of the shea into tallow or into a narrow-spread butter rather than adding wax.

Shelf life

On paper tallow should keep longer. Oxidation attacks polyunsaturated fatty acids first, and tallow has fewer: 4.0 g per 100 g in the USDA record, and only 0.5 to 0.65 percent linoleic plus linolenic in Limmatvapirat's Thai samples, against 5.98 percent in Abdel-Razek's crude shea and a 6.45 percent linoleic mean across Attikora's trees. The mechanism is in rancidity and oxidation.

Two things narrow that gap. Tallow carries less natural antioxidant: 2.7 mg of vitamin E per 100 g against about 10 mg of tocopherols in crude shea. And tallow's usual failure is not oxidation at all but water and protein left behind by home rendering, which cause hydrolysis and spoilage in weeks. Limmatvapirat's lab-rendered tallow was clean, with 0.08 to 0.10 percent moisture and peroxide values of 0.21 to 0.50 meq per kg; the tallow page explains why a kitchen batch often is not.

Crude shea starts with its own handicap. Abdel-Razek's sample arrived with 12.2 percent free fatty acids and a peroxide value of 5.91, both of which refining brought down to near zero. On the Rancimat at 110 C, crude shea lasted 11.5 hours before its induction point and refined fractions 12.5 to 18.5 hours. No readable source gave a comparable Rancimat figure for tallow, so this page does not rank the two on that test. The site's working figures are about 12 months for well-rendered tallow stored cool and dark, and 12 to 24 months for unrefined shea. For anything you sell, add tocopherol to either and run a proper shelf life test.

Which to choose for which product

Choosing between tallow and shea by product. Recommendations follow from the measured differences above; percentages are this site's working windows, not limits, and each needs a test batch.
Product or constraintChooseWhy
Vegan or vegetarian productSheaTallow is an animal fat; nothing else on this page matters
Balm that must survive heat or summer postTallowMelts near 42 C against 32 C for crude shea; 80% tallow set with 10% wax where 80% shea did not
Tin balm with the least waxTallowCarries more of its own structure at room temperature; 60 to 70% tallow with 5 to 8% beeswax is the site formula
Twist-up lip tubeShea, with beeswaxThe stick's firmness comes from wax either way, and a lip product sits under the nose, where a tallow note is hardest to hide
Soft, fast melt on contactCrude sheaA 32 C slip melt sits on skin temperature; tallow softens rather than melts
Formula that keeps going grainyTallow, or less sheaShea's SOS fraction segregates on slow cooling; tallow's mixed chains resist it
Neutral smell, fragrance-freeRefined sheaHome-rendered tallow carries a beef note unless rendered with care
Product sold on vitamins or sebum likenessNeither claimUSDA shows no vitamin A or K in tallow, and sebum's wax esters and squalene are not reported in it

For a plant-only version of a tallow product, the substitutes, shea and mango together, are listed in vegan body balm. Blending the two is also a perfectly good answer: a balm with tallow as the structural fat and a smaller share of shea for cushion gets the heat tolerance of one and the melt of the other, and the grain risk drops with every point of shea taken out.

What these numbers do not settle

The table joins figures from six laboratories and a database, and they do not share methods. USDA's tallow is a composite food record; Limmatvapirat's is Thai carcass fat rendered in a lab; Nam's melt is a single visual estimate; the shea figures are one Ghanaian lot and one Ivorian tree survey. Differences of a few points are inside the variation of either fat; the large ones, zero against claimed vitamins, 37 percent of sebum against nothing reported, 42 C against 32 C, are not.

Three gaps remain open. No readable source reports squalene or wax esters for tallow directly; the absence here is an absence of reports, backed by what tallow is made from, not a measured zero. No readable source gives a Rancimat time for tallow, so the shelf life comparison rests on composition. And no source measures what either fat does to skin against the other: the scoping review found the human evidence for tallow thin, and none of the shea sources tested skin at all. Both fats are competent emollients and occlusives in the sense set out in occlusive, emollient and humectant. Beyond that, the choice is texture, heat, smell and diet, and on those the numbers above are enough to decide.

Frequently asked questions

Does tallow contain vitamins A, D, E and K?

Not in the way it is sold. The USDA FoodData Central record for beef tallow gives 0 vitamin A and 0 vitamin K per 100 g, with 0.7 micrograms of vitamin D and 2.7 mg of vitamin E. A 100 g balm made with 65 g of tallow holds under half a microgram of vitamin D in total. Crude shea measured about 10 mg of vitamin E per 100 g.

Is tallow similar to human sebum?

Only in part. Sebum averages 45 percent triglycerides, 25 percent wax esters and 12 percent squalene. Tallow is mainly triglycerides, so it matches the first class, but no source reports wax esters or squalene in it. In the human body, wax esters are made only by sebaceous cells. Jojoba and lanolin, which do contain wax esters, are closer matches than tallow.

Is tallow harder than shea butter?

In a balm, yes. Tallow melts near 42 C against a 32 C slip melting point for crude shea. In a published lotion bar trial, 80 percent tallow with 10 percent beeswax set and could be measured, while 80 percent shea with 10 percent beeswax did not harden well. Beeswax still sets hardness most strongly.

Which goes rancid first, tallow or shea butter?

On composition, shea: it has more polyunsaturated fat, about 6 percent against 4 or less in tallow. But crude shea also carries about three times tallow's vitamin E, and home-rendered tallow usually fails from leftover water or protein rather than oxidation. Keep either cool, dark and sealed, and add tocopherol to anything you sell.

Can I replace shea butter with tallow in a recipe?

Yes, weight for weight, and expect a firmer set and less grain. Tallow holds more solid at room temperature, so a tallow version may need a point or two less wax to feel the same. Going the other way, from tallow to shea, budget a point or two more wax. No published exchange rate exists, so make a small test pour first.

Why does shea butter go grainy when tallow does not?

Shea is close to two triglycerides, a hard SOS at about 47 percent and a soft SOO at about 42. Cooled slowly, the SOS-rich part crystallises on its own into grains you can feel. Tallow's saturated fat is spread across palmitic, stearic and myristic acids, so no single fraction separates as easily. A full hot melt and a fast chill prevent most shea grain.

Sources and further reading

  1. US Department of Agriculture, FoodData Central, SR Legacy 171400: Fat, beef tallow, Agricultural Research Service, published April 2019.
  2. Pappas A, Epidermal surface lipids, Dermato-Endocrinology 1(2): 72-76, 2009.
  3. Limmatvapirat C and colleagues, Beef tallow: extraction, physicochemical property, fatty acid composition, antioxidant activity, and formulation of lotion bars, Journal of Applied Pharmaceutical Science 11(9): 18-28, 2021.
  4. Abdel-Razek AG and colleagues, Effect of refining and fractionation processes on minor components, fatty acids, antioxidant and antimicrobial activities of shea butter, Foods 12(8): 1626, 2023.
  5. Attikora AJP and colleagues, Genome-wide association study of fat content and fatty acid composition of shea tree (Vitellaria paradoxa C.F. Gaertn subsp. paradoxa), BMC Genomics 26, 2025.
  6. Nam KH, Beef tallow injection matrix for serial crystallography, Scientific Reports 12: 694, 2022.
  7. Russell MF and colleagues, Tallow, rendered animal fat, and its biocompatibility with skin: a scoping review, Cureus 16: e60981, 2024.

Reviewed and updated 27 September 2026. Spotted an error? Tell us and we will fix and log it.